event horizon

this tissue wrapping around my bones
is a black hole’s event horizon stolen
from its throne – if you had shone a light
across my eyes, you would have realized
light would be twisted, tugged at,
devoured, eaten, overthrown –
i’d bring it inside, never letting it out,
hours and seconds would lose their touch
building up lights into walls of stone
i take in more and more
even when i’ve already taken
in too much alone – the light’s
still there behind my stare
but to you it has been long gone
for quite some time,
nothing more than a tiny glare
that no longer shines

____
written by Tiny Fawns for daily prompt: none

The 3rd Day

May 2017 – 31 Day Blog Challenge
Theme: My Favorite Quote


“And all the light will be will be.” – Enya.

This quote is from the song “The Humming”  on Enya’s album Dark Sky Island.
To be honest, this my current favorite quote – I don’t have an all time favorite quote. The haunting lyrics are written with a simplicity weighted with the contemplation of existence. I’ve always appreciated musicians and lyricists who can apply the “less is more” expression to their art. It is something I have always struggled with – exercising discipline with concise structures for my writing … as you can see, they do tend to stream on and become a bit longwinded.

I have a lot of quotes that I hold very close to my heart. Depending on how the ripples of the days and nights unfold, one quote will resonate with me more than another. I wear quotes like mood rings. But I do notice I tend to rummage through quotes whenever I feel under the weather or whenever the rain gives lonely taps at my window. I hope you enjoy and treasure some or all of these as much as I do. However, I will confess – most of my favorite quotes tend to come from Mark Twain.

 


a557dd8226c6aa617aae7724ffec4f83

This is the challenge I’m currently participating in for the month of May. Credits are in the image. Feel free to participate. 

As always, thank you for stopping by and reading.
Tiny Fawns is a poetry journal with occasional art work. 
I recently decided to participate in this challenge so that my followers and anyone who ventures into Tiny Fawns Land can have a clearer picture of who I am, what I do, etc etc.
I rarely if ever blog outside of poetry, so for you followers who follow me strictly for poetry, I hope you will be gracious for the month of May to see a daily update from me that is not poetry. 🙂 I will of course be continuing my daily updates of poetry in addition to this.

-Brianna Dawn, AKA Tiny Fawns

ugly fires

hot, hot blood
runs up from my heart
and lungs and rubs my face until
it is flushed pink and crimson
it burns and boils until i feel
like a pack of candle sticks
the flames licking the air
through my eye sockets
burned to ash trying
to find something to
savor of you, i no longer care –
i quickly pull
the string of words
from my mouth,
it didn’t take long
for the fire to reach
the wick, choking on
smoking words, i take
a deep breath in, then out –
but they stir up the embers
reigniting it all and sending
me back into the thick
of things, remembering, and the
hot, hot blood leaving my
mind caked in mud

existence and archery

could something not living
without existence, without
breath, soul or heart
be at the wheel of the universe
of which we are a part of
no, i think not, but no matter
where we look –
above or below
we will perhaps never know
if we are the arrow
or the bow

____
written by Tiny Fawns for daily prompt: control

fallen pizza brigade

the blood of tomatoes was spilt this day
great warriors – bell peppers, even more tomatoes,
and that dear, sweet basil were stretched out
across their warm little bed
rip, the pizza master said, boxed them all up –
nice and neat in their cardboard coffin
then delivered in a portable oven
to someone who will eat them
while watching netflix or smoking weed
like they were nothing

____
backdated Post A Day Poem – for March 25th, 2017.