sad blooms

tiny shadows appeared –
as the rain clouds loomed
and leered from the skies,
the shadows grew larger and
bloomed tears that stung
the corners of my eyes, leaving them
red across the edges, burning like
the sunset on a horizon left
wet from the storm from which
numbness and detachment
were born to keep the sadness from
rising again and bending
my worn face down – i’ll
keep the shadows in their room
right here, inside my heart –
because i can’t imagine
a moment in my life in which
we could ever be apart

___
backdated Post a Day Poem for April 1st, 2017.

The 10th Day

May 2017 – 31 Day Blog Challenge
Theme: Best physical feature


My eyes. Depending on lighting and what eyeshadow I choose to wear, my eyes can either appear more brown or more golden/green. Perks of having hazel eyes.

a557dd8226c6aa617aae7724ffec4f83

As always, thank you for stopping by and reading.

Tiny Fawns is a poetry journal with occasional art work. 
I recently decided to participate in this challenge so that my followers and anyone who ventures into Tiny Fawns Land can have a clearer picture of who I am, what I do, etc etc.
I rarely if ever blog outside of poetry, so for you followers who follow me strictly for poetry, I hope you will be gracious for the month of May to see a daily update from me that is not poetry. 🙂 I will of course be continuing my daily updates of poetry in addition to this.

-Brianna Dawn, AKA Tiny Fawns

skin

there are those days
when you feel strange in your
own skin – sometimes i think
moonlight or fluorescent lights
really bring out the hollow bone
death white from within and stretch
it across my face, walking,
feeling like one of those skeletons
found in one of those hidden
tombs in one of those hidden
sacrificial mounds

the last midnights

where do spirits wander to
during their final midnights
within a human shell? do
they visit heaven or hell to
see if all is well? or do
they wait to make their
departure until the
heartbeat fails to sound?
or do they take sail on the
final breaths as they take
flight from the ground
of the earth, leaving behind
the decaying, materialistic life
in order to find a place that
escapes the temporary and
into something more eternal
and divine
___
written by Tiny Fawns for daily prompt: temporary