what music wears

music sometimes wears a soft floral print dress,
walks into the room of my mind with a heartbeat
as warm, welcoming and light as the sun

music sometimes wears a black, worn jacket of leather
walks into the room of my mind, my heart racing – tethered
to those memories when he left me feeling completely undone

music oftentimes wears a cloak, of torn and heavy wool
walks into the room of my mind, with a scornful glance making
me feel like a nostalgic, hopeless fool

music oftentimes wears a dagger, bled of blood and second chances
walks into the room of my mind, making those regretful glances
transform into wisdom of the finest gems and jewels

music always wears a crown, made of the sun, stars, and moon
all illuminating the multitude of paths i’ve chosen in life and reflect upon
as i sit in this tiny room

leftovers

time is hungry, eating itself tirelessly
morning, noon, and night –
once it eats up a minute, seconds later
it has eaten up the hour and comes back
for seconds, thirds, and fourths –
and right when you think time has
run its final course, eating up your last
breath, your death was just another pinprick
and continues without remorse with everyone else
the next day, eating what’s left in the cabinets and pantries
whatever it wants for itself

___
backdated Post a Day poem for April 2nd, 2017

shadows & gems

my brush runs and runs her hands,
petting the face of the canvas and
once it is smoothed down and soft
with a mixture of colors and hues
all sorts of enigmatic clues
a tabby cat of textures and shadows
dancing around a hidden truth i try
to peel out of my heart and limbs
then attempt to recreate them as perfect gems
worth 1,000 words, even if there
may possibly be nothing worthy
to be heard, but just enough to be
stirred and mixed into a lovely
texture to perform enchanting tricks
on the eye, making others contemplate
if it’s about life or the desire to die
or if it’s really about a higher truth
or the lowest of lies
___
written by Tiny Fawns for daily prompt: pursue

The 11th Day

May 2017 – 31 Day Blog Challenge
Theme: 15 of my favorite things


  1. Nature
  2. Music
  3. Art
  4. Egyptology
  5. Languages
  6. Celtic Mythology
  7. Tarot
  8. Colors
  9. Philosophy
  10. Literature
  11. Tea / Coffee
  12. Spirituality
  13. Divination (Geomancy, Ogham)
  14. Incense
  15. Collecting and pressing flowers / leaves

a557dd8226c6aa617aae7724ffec4f83

As always, thank you for stopping by and reading.

Tiny Fawns is a poetry journal with occasional art work. 
I recently decided to participate in this challenge so that my followers and anyone who ventures into Tiny Fawns Land can have a clearer picture of who I am, what I do, etc etc.
I rarely if ever blog outside of poetry, so for you followers who follow me strictly for poetry, I hope you will be gracious for the month of May to see a daily update from me that is not poetry. 🙂 I will of course be continuing my daily updates of poetry in addition to this.

-Brianna Dawn, AKA Tiny Fawns