wolf cried wolf

the wolf cried wolf
to see if anyone would
run to the rescue,
to save himself from
himself – they did,
but not soon
enough – so he coughed
his sadness upward
to the moon, his breath a
rough cold smoke in the air,
letting his sadness
rip through the trees –
others couldn’t tell if it
were prayers or swears

swearing; steering

music beautifully swears
about the things that tear
at the bruises of my scars
which is why we turn her up
to push pain out into the sunlight
as we dig our nails into
the steering wheels of our cars
sending us into some direction
while feeling directionless

___
backdated Post a Day Poem for April 3rd, 2017

The 12th Day

May 2017 – 31 Day Blog Challenge
Theme: What’s in your fridge?


Vegetables: Assorted spinach and lettuce leaves, an onion, tomatoes, a bell pepper, carrots, sweet potatoes, an avocado.
Fruits: Fruit mix bowl of orange slices, grapes, strawberry slices, pineapple/cantaloupe/dew mellon chunks.
Meat: Sliced ham, Eggs
Dairy: Mild Cheddar Cheese
Condiments: Ranch dressing, Ketchup, Mustard

I mostly eat salads and bake various foods. Other foods I have I stored in my cabinet are bread for avocado toast in the morning, sardines canned in olive oil, assorted nut mix, Saltine crackers, tortillas, and a couple of packages of ramen for those days I just don’t feel like cooking. During the rainy season I try to have at least a week’s worth of food in case it rains for days and days on end and I can’t get to the store.

a557dd8226c6aa617aae7724ffec4f83


As always, thank you for stopping by and reading.

Tiny Fawns is a poetry journal with occasional art work. 
I recently decided to participate in this challenge so that my followers and anyone who ventures into Tiny Fawns Land can have a clearer picture of who I am, what I do, etc etc.
I rarely if ever blog outside of poetry, so for you followers who follow me strictly for poetry, I hope you will be gracious for the month of May to see a daily update from me that is not poetry. 🙂 I will of course be continuing my daily updates of poetry in addition to this.

-Brianna Dawn, AKA Tiny Fawns